Skip to content

Om Nom Freedom Nom Nom

July 15, 2010

Sometimes the government gets a hankering. It gets the munchies and just wants something to gnaw on. Sometimes it’s a country (we had a big meal on that one, the carbs!) and sometimes it’s our freedoms that we take for granted. When Obama was running for office, I told everyone I talked to that the man was no different than anyone else we had voted into office recently; that he was not change. I have been proved right.

Obama, on the Fourth of July weekend, while everyone was on vacation, snuck in the “National Strategy for Trusted Identities in Cyberspace.” If you thought Arizona was “show me your papers,”  you’re not going to like this. If you got pissed off at the idea of WOW forums showing your real name, you’re not going to like this. If you like having any shred of autonomy in your life, you will not like this.

Basically, this strategy will give you the online equivalent of a Social Security number and require you to have ID on many sites. This will increase bureaucracy and make you less safe, as all someone has to do is find this one number or password and, like Social Security, they have access to your life. It’s just a plain dumb idea, and you can tell the Obama administration knows that, or they would have released this strategy when people weren’t on vacation. This is fucked up.

I got this story from Downsize D.C., a site you should all check out. It’s free to sign up and the newsletter will keep you up to date on some pretty stupid things the government tries to pull off. The organization is non-partisan and you don’t even have to subscribe to use most of their services. Give it a passing glance.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2011 20:38

    I have to show some thanks to the writer just for bailing me out of this challenge. As a result of exploring throughout the world wide web and getting thoughts which were not powerful, I assumed my entire life was done. Existing minus the solutions to the problems you’ve solved all through this guideline is a critical case, and those that could have in a negative way damaged my entire career if I hadn’t come across the website. Your good ability and kindness in maneuvering the whole thing was very useful. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t discovered such a point like this. I am able to at this time look forward to my future. Thank you very much for this professional and sensible help. I will not think twice to suggest your site to any individual who needs to have guide about this topic.

Trackbacks

  1. Linkage is Good for You: What You’ve All Been Waiting for Edition (NSFW)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.